310C: Time and Death

I’m looking for a book series – one about a person as the figure of death, one about a person as the figure of time.. Maybe they were from a sci fi author?


6 thoughts on “310C: Time and Death

  1. Series by Piers Anthony
    On a Pale Horse (1983)
    Bearing an Hourglass (1984)
    With a Tangled Skein (1985)
    Wielding a Red Sword (1986)
    Being a Green Mother (1987)
    For Love of Evil (1988)
    And Eternity (1990)
    Under a Velvet Cloak (2007)

  2. You might be thinking of Terry Pratchett; some of the novels in his Discworld series feature Death prominently:

    Mort (1987)
    Reaper Man (1991)
    Hogfather (1996)
    Thief of Time (2001)

    He crops up in others from time to time, but in these he’s the star of the show.

  3. I would have to second the Incantations of Immortality series. I have read all the others listed as well, but this is the only one that does it as a series.

  4. I’ll ‘third’ it. Piers Anthony, who wrote a huge number of series, but the one you want is the Incarnations of Immortality’. Amazon carries the books individually rather than in a set, and I have no idea why at least one seller (not Amazon) is asking over $400.00 for his/her/its book. Don’t fall for it, get the individual books which are reasonably priced, and take a look at the ‘available from these sellers’ for second hand books at even more reasonable prices.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *